NEWS RELEASE   3/3/2010

gold bar
FLINT CITY HALL WILL BE OPEN FOR BUSINESS ON THE REMAINING 10 EMPLOYEE LAYOFF DAYS
City is rescinding layoff notices to approximately 109 AFSCME Local #1600 Employees

Flint, Michigan – March 2, 2010 – Mayor Dayne Walling is rescinding approximately 109 AFSCME Local #1600 layoff notices. The city’s largest employee union did not reach a letter of understanding with the administration on the 12 employee layoff days.

According to language in the AFSCME Local #1600 union contract employees cannot have their work week reduced to below 40 hours without a letter of understanding. The city has reimbursed eligible members for the 2 employee layoff days that have already been taken. For the remaining 10 layoff days local #1600 employees will report to work at city hall and the municipal building will be open for business.

The administration did sign a letter of understanding agreeing to 12 employee layoff days with AFSCME Local #1799. Employees of this local, as well as exempt employees and appointees will continue take the remaining employee layoff days on a modified schedule.

“The layoff days were an effort to achieve cost savings without indefinite layoffs of city employees. Because we could not reach an agreement with local #1600 on this effort, the city will now realize these costs savings through indefinite layoffs of AFSCME Local #1600 members,” said Mayor Walling.


The following dates reflect the days Flint City Hall will now be open to the public.
Friday, March 5, 2010
Friday, March 19, 2010
Friday, April 2, 2010
Friday, April 9, 2010
Monday, April 19, 2010
Friday, May 7, 2010
Monday, May 17, 2010
Friday, June 11, 2010
Friday, June 25, 2010
Monday, June 28, 2010

For more information contact Dawn Jones, City of Flint Director of Communications at
(810) 237-2039 or e-mail dfjones@cityofflint.com.

###

 Return to News Release Page